Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Hellinterview #1 Tony REED, MOS GENERATOR

Publié le 25 Novembre 2013 in Hellinterviews

Hellinterview #1 Tony REED, MOS GENERATOR

Hi, metalheads!!!

 

HELLFAN is back again, with its series of interview that let you discover what’s behind the scene. Let’s start today with Tony REED, who let a strong impression to VALLEY TENT’s audience during last edition. Coming to replace SAVIOURS, He and his band MOS GENERATOR fed festival goers with their groovy and 70’s Heavy Rock. Let’s have a talk…

 

 

Hellinterview #1 Tony REED, MOS GENERATOR

Hi Tony ! Again Thanks for participating.
First of all, can you present yourself and tell a bit about MOS GENERATOR’s history?

Hello, this is Tony Reed. Guitar, vocals and Assorted keyboards for Mos Generator. MG formed in the winter of 2000. The three of us had been in another band together in the early 90s and wanted to get back to the kind of music we grew up with. Heavy Rock. Our first album was released in early 2002 and since them we’ve made 5 more studio albums, a live album, and a slew of 7” singles. Over the last 14 years we’ve released albums on Listenable, Ripple, Small Stone,Lay Bare, Nasoni, Roadburn, RxEvolution and our own label Music Abuse.

 

You were not initially scheduled on HELLFEST. Can you tell us how you came to be part of the lineup instead of SAVIOURS? How did you get in touch with HELLFEST PROD?

From what I understand the HELLFEST organizers contacted our record label and requested us. We had no option but to play such an amazing festival.

 

Did you ever hear about HELLFEST before?

Yes, I was aware of HELLFEST from seeing it in magazines and I had friends who had played it before.

 

What kind of thing did you then hear about it?

I had seen pictures of massive crowds but of course you can’t really comprehend the size of it until you are there.

 

Now that you experienced HELLFEST, what is your feeling about it? What did especially please you?

  We don’t have heavy rock and metal fests that large in the united states so it was a pleasure to be in the middle of such an event even if it was overwhelming at times. So many great bands and rabid metal fans. I’ve never been to anything like it.

 

Really? It sounds a bit weird, I must say. I mean, remembering events like Lollapalooza (that maybe no longer exist?), until then I thought there were even – if not much – bigger fests in the USA.  Do you have an idea about the reasons why such events does not really exist in your country?

Lollapalooza was not much of a hard rock or metal fest. The only thing that compares to Hellfest in the states was ozzfest. Metal gets more attention than stoner or retro heavy rock here in the states but it’s starting to change and that’s good.

 

You played in VALLEY TENT, in which lineup is essentially Hard Rock, Stoner, and 70’s rock oriented. Those subgenres seem to strongly comeback, at least in Europe. How about the US? What is your feeling about this trend?

Heavy rock is making a big surge in the united states and now I finally feel like I want to spend some time touring here as well as Europe. We haven’t done very much touring in the states and it feels like now is the time. I’m very excited about this comeback, it makes it easier for us to be recognized. We’ve been making records for many years and now I feel that now people are taking notice of our work. That has a lot to do with the great band/label/fan networking that happens in this scene. It’s the most supportive scene in music. It’s truly amazing. I’m happy to be a part of it.


Did you spend some time in the middle of festival goers, in order to attend some shows? Did you chat with some people? How did you find those moments?

I did walk around and enjoy food, drink and all the great vendors that were selling. I saw many friends and fans during the festival. I always enjoy seeing people I know or have seen at our shows before. I really like talking to people and making friends. The spirit was incredible.

 

Regarding lineup, what shows did you enjoy most in Clisson?

I spent a lot of my time walking around and meeting people. Most of the bands I just watched a few songs and moved to the next area. For some reason I couldn’t get my schedule in order. Maybe next time.

 

Let’s deal a bit about YOUR show. It seems that something very special happened with the audience. Can you tell us a bit about the way you lived that moment?

It was the largest crowd I have ever played for. I was blown away by the crowd response to our songs. I felt a lot of energy coming from them and it helped fuel my performance and make a connection with them. It’s important for me to make a connection with the audience and I could feel something special. i view it as my greatest time on stage and it gave me so much confidence to push this band forward as hard as I can. A very inspiring day.

Inspiring enough to get ideas for some new tunes?

Oh yeah! I am actually working on a new song at the same time I am writing this. Listening to playback as I type. We have a lot of split records and smaller releases coming out between our albums for Listenable records so I am writing and recording every idea that comes into my head then I sift through them and concentrate on the ones I think will work for the band

If you would be in charge of the lineup of next HELLFEST edition, are there bands that you would like to be part of it? Which ones?

For the valley tent I would like to see a lot of bands that are friends of mine, Stubb, Bigelf, wo fat, ancient warlocks, witch charmer.

Well, that was a real pleasure to discuss with you. Let me leave you the final word. What would you like to tell to our readers?

Thank you for asking. All I really have to say is spread the word. This scene thrives on a grass roots level and is supported by people telling other people what they have discovered and think is cool. It’s music and art at it’s purest. cheers!!!

 

 

A huge Thank you to Tony REED, and also to Claire BERNADET and Romain DAUT, without whom this interview would probably have never occured…

Commenter cet article